24 Aug 2010

Penghu Islands

The Penghu Islands are an archipelago off the western coast of Taiwan in the Taiwan Strait consisting of 90 small islands and islets covering an area of 141 square kilometers.

'Peng-hu' was first recorded in unofficial historical records and regional logs in 1171 during the Southern Song Dynasty. From the middle of the 17th century to 1895, Taiwan and the archipelago were ruled by pirates, the colonial Dutch Empire ( attempts of conquest from 1622 onward ), the Koxinga kingdom, and the Qing Dynasty, successively.

No comments: