3 May 2011

Región de Los Lagos

The X Los Lagos Region (Spanish: X Región de Los Lagos) is one of Chile's 15 regions which are first order administrative divisions and comprises four provinces: Chiloé, Llanquihue, Palena and Osorno Province. The Los Lagos Region contains the country's second largest island, Chiloé, and the second largest lake, Llanquihue. Its capital is Puerto Montt; other important cities include Osorno, Castro, Ancud, and Puerto Varas, Frutillar. Also visit Archaeological site of Monte Verde. The region is part of Northern Patagonia as the presence of Tehuelches ( first Patagons ) were present as of 14.500AD.

The region has an area of 67,013 km2 (25,874 sq mi) and its population, according to the 2002 INE Census was 1,073,135, with a population density of 15.8 /km² including Valdivia Province that in 2007 became a region of its own. It is bordered on the north by Los Ríos Region, on the south by Aisén Region, on the west by the Pacific Ocean and on the east by Argentina (provinces of Neuquén, Río Negro and Chubut). The region, in general, has a natural vegetation of Valdivian temperate rain forest. The coastal part, except for the south of the Chiloé Island, has a temperate climate with cold winter rain. To the south, the climate is characterized by constant rain and not having dry seasons.

1 comment:

asdfpostcrossing said...

oh Hernan!! with his unique hand writing <3

cool postcard!