11 Oct 2010


North Holland, Dutch: Noord-Holland, West Frisian: Noard-Holland) is a province situated on the North Sea in the northwest part of the Netherlands. The provincial capital is Haarlem and its largest city is Amsterdam.North Holland is a broad peninsula between the North Sea and the IJsselmeer. More than half of the province consists of reclaimed polder land situated below sea level.North Holland's major cities and towns are Amsterdam, Haarlem, Hilversum, Den Helder, Alkmaar, Zaandam and Hoorn. The island of Texel is also part of North Holland. North Holland has also invited Bonaire, Saba and St. Eustatius in the Netherland Antilles to become part of their state. No decision has been reached as of yet.

No comments: